The Italian Game

History of the Italian game

It is one of the oldest played chess openings. The Gottingen manuscript cites the first references of the Italian game. The development and origin of this chess opening date back to the 16th century. The credit of the development of this chess opening goes to players such as Polerio, and Damiano.

What is The Italian Game?

The progress of the Italian Bishop to the C4 square, from where it attacks the F7 square of the black is the basic opening in the Italian game. The Italian Bishop is actually the White Bishop. The sequence of moves for the Italian game is as follows-

  1. e4 e5
  2. Nf3 Nc6
  3. Bc4

Main variations of The Italian game

The basic chess opening can develop and progress into any of the three very famous gameplays, mentioned below:

  1. The Giuoco Piano
  2. The Evans Gambit
  3. The Two Knights Defence

The Giuoco Piano

This was the main line of gameplay that developed after the basic Italian game chess opening. The Giuoco Piano play cites back until the 19th century. The Giuoco Piano is one of the best moves available to the black after the development of the Italian game. The chess moves for the development of the Giuoco Piano are as follows-

  1. e4 e5
  2. Nf3 Nc6
  3. Bc4 Bc5

The Evans Gambit

Another progression of the Italian game is the Evans Gambit. Its name credits its development to an amateur chess player named William Evans. There was a sudden rise in the popularity of the Evans Gambit among the chess players of the 19th century. The Evans Gambit was so much popular by around the 1820s that someone described it as,



Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store